Book Review: The Great Gatsby

In my previous post, I mentioned that I read only one book in the last three months.  That book was The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

thegreatgatsby_1925jacket

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this read.  When I picked it up I was expecting a fairly dull book, and although it was slightly boring at the beginning, after 50 pages I had been drawn into the story and really enjoyed it.

I gave it a 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

I’m not going to bother with a detailed summary because that can be found just about anywhere online and I don’t want to spoil anything for those who have yet to read it.  Basically, our narrator – Nick – moves to Long Island in the 1920s.  On Long Island, he meets a man named Jay Gatsby who has an obsession with the green light across the bay.  And that’s all I’m going to say.

What I would like to write about: Annotating Your Books.

This is something new to me but I thought I’d give it a shot.  Of course, I’ve marked texts in school but I’ve always thought of writing in an actual book as an act of desecration.  A while back I watched a video in the Book Tube community about writing in books (this video by the lovely Ariel Bissett).  That changed my opinion on annotating in my books but I didn’t immediately get around to trying it.  Anyways, I decided to give it a shot while reading Gatsby and I think it went pretty well.  A lot of what I marked were things I had questions about and passages I liked.  Here are a few of my favorite passages:

“Possibly it had occurred to him that the colossal significance of that light had now vanished forever.  Compared to the great distance that had separated him from Daisy it had seemed very near to her, almost touching her.  It had seemed as close as a star to the moon.  Now it was again a green light on a dock.  His count of enchanted objects had diminished by one.”

“Then he kissed her.  At his lips’ touch she blossomed for him like a flower and the incarnation was complete.”

“So we drove on toward death through the cooling twilight.”

“Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us.  It eluded us then, but that’s no matter–to-morrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther….And one fine morning—-

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

-F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

Hopefully that gave you a little taste of the writing.  I don’t usually pay a lot of attention to the author’s particular writing style, but I couldn’t help noticing the very distinct and eloquent voice Fitzgerald has.

After finishing the book I immediately wanted to watch one of the movies.  I ended up watching the more recent version with Leonardo DiCaprio and I was extremely impressed.  It’s a gorgeous movie, I absolutely adored the visual aspects of it.

great-gatsby-3d-screenshot

Thanks for reading, cheers!

-Claire

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Great Gatsby

Leave a Reply

