Life Update

Hey there! It’s been way too long since I last logged in on WordPress (and even longer since I last posted).ย  Things have been a little crazy – and truth be told, I’ve been a little lazy – so I haven’t been very active.ย  Hopefully, that will change now, and as the school year begins to wind down in a little bit I’m foreseeing much more time that I can dedicate to blogging.

So let’s begin with what’s going on in my life (yes, I know, not very bookish, but we’ll get to that in a bit).

  • I’m now single and I have to say it’s kind of refreshing…
  • Currently very stressed about my grades (gotta keep that 4.0)
  • Loving Ed Sheeran’s new album!!!
  • Getting my eyebrows done tomorrow, woohoo ๐Ÿ˜›
  • I’m finally restarting volunteering at the local public library in a few weeks
  • I’ve been taking some pictures for fun after I took at photography class last term, in fact, the featured photo on this post is one that I took in my backyard.

Now….let’s move on to books! I haven’t been doing a lot of reading recently, but the last book I read was Looking For Alaska by John Green.ย  I enjoyed it, didn’t quite think it was worth all the hype, but not bad.

Currently, I’m reading Marked by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast.ย  It’s honestly pretty terrible, but it’s a good terrible.ย  I guess you could say it’s a bit of a guilty pleasure.

marked

There’s some seriously cringey dialogue, as well as a fairly predictable plotline.ย  The other thing that’s really bothered me was the stereotypical “dork” in the hall at her high school, “…a tall thin dork with messed up teeth…The dork made a squeaky little sound and scuttled down the hall to Mrs. Day’s room clutching a flat board to his bony chest.ย  Guess the chess club had changed its meeting time to Mondays after school.”

sigh

I suppose this just bothers me because I myself am fairly dorky/nerdy and I have a lot of friends like that.ย  It really gets on my nerves that the dorks in so many books are always specifically described as ugly.ย  None of the “cool” guys ever have messed up teeth or a bony chest… Okay, rant over.

Other than those things I’m enjoying Marked for its entertainment value as well as the fact that it’s such a quick read.ย  And a quick read is exactly what I need right now to get me going again.

Anyways, expect a full review of Marked sometime in the near future.ย  Have an amazing rest of your day, and thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

